Cismontane Brewing Company’s Coulter IPA and Citizen California Common

I think I’m still in the honeymoon phase after turning 21 about 6 months ago, so what better thing to have located a scant 10 minutes from my home than a brewery?

Cismontane Brewing Company is just a couple hundred feet from El Fenix, and mere steps away from Rancho Canyon Music, where I take drum lessons and many of my friends teach. Cismontane always has four core brews, as well as a couple of seasonal or otherwise variable offerings.

The Coulter IPA, one of their four core brews, has a pleasant, citrus-like sourness—lemony, specifically—and it has a noticeable orange hue in the glass.

A rather sour beer. Crisp and refreshing with a nice body and good strength.

Crisp and refreshing with a nice body and good strength.

The Citizen California Common, my favorite Cismontane brew, is a mellower experience than the Coulter. Citizen has a comparable body and mouth feel to the Coulter, but from the first sip you know this is a hoppy beer. I like a hoppy beer.

My idea of a good, all-purpose beer. I can imagine eating this with most anything, but it worked especially well with a burrito lengua from El Fenix.

My idea of a good, all-purpose beer. I can imagine eating this with most anything, but it worked especially well with a burrito lengua from El Fenix.

The warm, inviting tasting room, good friends, and Jenga enhanced with some silly rules make for a wonderful experience. Cismontane actually encourage customers to patronize neighboring eateries and bring food to eat with their beer; the Thai place next door even brings your order right to you in the tasting room!

Comments

