Paris Day 2 (September 2)

We woke early and refreshed. A quick, very French-y French breakfast and we were out the door.

Had to settle for a confiture avec pectine. My mother's pectin elitism knows no borders.

Had to settle for a confiture avec pectine. My mother’s pectin elitism knows no borders.

We had a very simple plan:  walk.

From home we took the most direct route to the Seine and turned left (West). I was reveling and vibing and overall thoroughly enjoying myself when Place de la Concorde suddenly appeared before us! But ya, whatever. Just an Ancient Egyptian obelisk between two gorgeous fountains in the middle of a traffic circle.

I’m writing this in the evening of my third day, and I still don’t understand how all these Parisians go about their lives without having theirs minds constantly blown by all these awesome things just laying around this city.

Once I tore my gaze from the obelisk, I was drawn to this long, almost axis-like road heading away from Concorde. It was very nice. More statues, shops, and some sort of…Arc at the end. A lot of people seemed to be heading for it so we just sort of followed them. After alighting to the top, I felt rather…triomphant.

Picture taken just as I was about to don my sunglasses.

Picture taken just as I was about to don my sunglasses.

And from the top of this…”triumphant arch” we could see this big metal tower. We decided to head for that, stopping for some excellent sandwiches de poulet et jambon crudité on the way.

We later saw that PeGast is a chain. Still, excellent sandwiches.

We later saw that PeGast is a chain. Still, excellent sandwiches.

From the Tour Eiffel we again followed the Seine back Eastward, passing too many points of interest to list without making a huge run-on sentence. I do want to showcase these cool benches, though, from the area around Pont de l’Alma.

IMG_9764

I like a bit of industrial architecture.

This stretch of Seine shoreline, between Pont de l’Alma and Pont Royal, has been recently developed into an ecology-showcasing park-type area. It’s a wonderful walk.

As what was meant to be the last thing, we took a quick walk through the Marché Couvert St. Germain. I ended getting inspired by the beautiful fish, so I grabbed a filet de Grenadier, a couple of potatoes, and a head of rougette lettuce for dinner.

Could always use an excellent tomato, too.

Could always use an excellent tomato, too.

This in turn prompted another quick Monoprix run for heavy cream, red wine vinegar, and more Badoit. I also happened upon Badoit Rouge, the intensément pétillante (intensely sparkling) version of regular Badoit.

I did my usual simple, creamy mash with the potatoes and sautéed the fish in (lots of) butter. The Monoprix brand red wine vinegar was excellent—almost as good as Vilux—and there was a good Italian olive oil left by the last renter of this apartment.

I had a pretty major "moment" while preparing and eating this.

I had a pretty major “moment” while preparing and eating this.

Dinner energized me, but the local disquaires (record stores) were all closed, so I went out for a beer.

One thought on “Paris Day 2 (September 2)

  1. Pingback: Paris Day 2 (September 2) part deux | Baguettes and Drumsticks

Comments

