Paris Day 3 (September 3)

As if our previous breakfast wasn’t French enough, on this morning I nipped out to the closest (open) boulangerie. The closest one happens to be closed on Wednesdays, so, unfazed, I just walked in the opposite direction of the people carrying baguettes. It didn’t take long to find one that was open, but just in that short walk I had to pass two other boulangeries that are also closed on Wednesdays. Despite all that extreme hardship, though, we got our breakfast together.

Still not passé.

Still not passé.

The closest market on Wednesdays is Marché Monge at Place Monge. An excellent market that covers all the essentials.

Since none of the record stores in the area are open after 19:00, this was now the time to hit them up. There are several disquaires clustered along Rue des Écoles, for obvious reasons, as well as more scattered around the general area. I doubled back toward RdÉ to begin my day of crate digging.

Met this nice and slightly odd chat along the way.

Met this nice and slightly odd chat along the way.

My search for a record store that had apparently closed or moved brought me to the Panthéon–just another majestic building in the middle of everything–and a funny little place called De Clercq, who claim to be les rois de la frite. “Well, ok then” I said. Un petit cornet and my umpteenth bottle of Badoit only cost me €4.60. I took one last look up and down the street (still looking for that record store), and then I had a nice sit down at Place de l’Estrapade.

Chose mayonnaise to dip in. Hardly missed the ketchup!

Chose mayonnaise for dipping. Hardly missed the ketchup!

Rejuvenated, I turned back toward RdÉ proper. Just a stone’s throw from Place du Panthéon, I happened upon a cool little record store specializing in classical music. A lot of happening upon, I know, but it…happens.

As I found subsequent disquaires I had researched, I found that American and British classic rock reign supreme here, which at first slightly disappointed me, but really it’s pretty cool. My music, that is to say my favorite music, can take me anywhere in the world, both in terms of listening and playing. For the Francophiles, most music stores, chain or mom-and-pop, usually have a sections called Variété Français, wherein they lump multiple genres by artists of French origin.

Another thing I found is that music is EXPENSIVE here. Regular (non-special editions, non-imported, etc.) CDs from a Barnes and Noble-like store, Gibert Jeune, cost €15+, or about $20 with current exchange rates. The going rate for a record from a little disquaire seems to be €8. Maybe wages and all that are such that €15 works out for the French consumer the same as $10-12 does for an American consumer. Either way, I had to dial back my shopping list. Despite that, I had some good finds.

Trust is an 80s metal band I found online a while ago, Catharsis sounds cool, and I enjoy Vivaldi.

Trust is an 80s metal band I found online a while ago, Catharsis sounds cool, and I enjoy Vivaldi.

A few hours had passed and I was approaching the limit of my daily budget. It was time to regroup with my Aunt for another (and another, as it turned out) stop at Berthillon. Fig and peach. Still fantastic, though I unfortunately forgot to photograph both of my cones.

Thus concluded the day’s activities, other that the walk home and me finally starting to write down all the things I’ve been doing. I ended up falling asleep without a proper dinner. Oh well.

Comments

